05
Mar
11

Bonus Time

Recently, as I’ve been traveling a good bit to Miami, Tampa, or Mobile or maybe just an hour south, west or north, I like to call my old friends and family to just talk with no agenda, catching up and finding out about them and what’s going on and how’s it hangin or how’s the kid or the wife or the weather up there – I heard it’s cold, nice talking to ya, see you again sometime soon. Sometimes, the friends or cousins who I call more regularly will ask, “Are you on the road?” and then they’ll laugh and endulge me awhile as we make conversation.  “No offense”, I may say sincerely as none is really meant.

This is my Bonus Time and talking during it,  while on the road, is like when a pitch was bounced in homerun derby when we were kids – if you connect it’s all the better, but if not, that’s ok too, because it doesn’t really count against you.  In the game, the batter had but ten outs to hit as many homeruns as he could.  Anything that isn’t a homer is an out.  Though, if the pitch is bounced, then it is a Bonus Pitch and the batter can swing away with no penalty.

In the car on the road with the phone, there’s literally nothing else that I could be doing, so to squeeze out some conversation from those whom I don’t usually talk to during this time, well, that’s a bonus.  It’s gravy time; the icing; the extra little bit that that is so important but so often overlooked.  But what of my friend or family whom I’m talking to?

They’re like I’d be if I weren’t driving – BUSY with work or school or at the post office or in Target getting God knows what.  In most cases, they are far too busy for weather-talk or a catch-up convo.  They are (and to be honest, I am) usually in a ‘get to the point’ tone, half listening, too distracted in the day-to-day for yesterday’s stories or mindless BS that ‘just doesn’t matter.’  The trees, the trees, the trees, where art thou forest?

But, in our defense, we’ve got to guard against our time becuase, indeed, that is all we’ve got at the end of the day when we’re tired and lazy, mind in a blender, motivation waiting till tomorrow.  Just after washing the face and brushing the teeth, while reading just before sleep, there’s a notion of the person whom you muted the ringer as way to incognore thier from-the-road call and you think, “I wonder how he / she’s doing, are they still there with them, I remember that time” and you may chuckle a little to yourself and say, “I’ll call them back tomorrow if I’m not too busy.”

Why can’t everyday, traveling or not, have a bounced up bonus pitch whereby we take thirty minutes to talk to someone we don’t see everyday.  Someone who meant alot to the you that has become.  Even if distantly, albeit they still do.

If you look at it from a certain perspective, all the time tastes like brown gravy on peas and rice.  It’s all icing on the cake.  Every minute is extra.  We might as well take the time to enjoy it with those whom we have grown to accept.

We’ve gotta water the old gardens

every now and then too.  There’s

still some fruit there I tell ya.

Do More Now

2 Responses to “Bonus Time”


  1. March 27, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    I like your writing style, and I’m hoping for more stories like this one.

  2. December 8, 2012 at 3:15 pm

    I like the valuable info you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and check again here regularly.
    I’m quite certain I’ll learn many new stuff
    right here! Good luck for the next!


Leave a Reply

My Previous Vocabulary.

www.mysecretvocabulary.blogspot.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


